HISTORY OF WOODROW WILSON SCHOOL 

Built in 1917 by local architects Haxby and Braseth, the Woodrow Wilson School building was designed to house twelve elementary classrooms. The Collegiate Gothic style building is second only to Horace Mann (1915) in longevity of serving Fargo as a school. The building’s name, “Woodrow Wilson,” was voted on by a committee of 146 residents who chose the name of the sitting president at the time over Ulysses Grant, Mark Twain, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and John Dewey. While students filled the hallways during the day, the community used the space in the evenings for adult education. After 95 years at this location, Woodrow Wilson School moved to another location in the Fargo school district. The vacated building was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 24, 2012.

When an old structure no longer supports it original purpose, it takes thoughtful engagement to reveal its latent potential. In 2017, on the building’s centennial, it reopened as one-of-a-kind living spaces full of historic character and unique details honoring its past as a school. Connected by a resident courtyard to a newly constructed apartment building to the east, the buildings stand ready to serve the Fargo community for the next century. Together, they form the Woodrow Apartments.